Foire aux Questions

Questions générales

Halal est un terme arabe désignant tout objet ou action autorisée à utiliser ou à entreprendre selon la charia (loi islamique). Ce terme est largement utilisé pour certifier les produits alimentaires considérés comme permis selon la loi islamique.

Contrairement à Halal, Haram signifie interdit. Haram désigne des objets et des actions interdits, tels que des produits alimentaires.

Les produits alimentaires ou éléments nutritionnels suivants sont considérés comme Haram :

  • Viande de porc et tous les produits alimentaires contenant des éléments de viande de porc
  • Alcool et produits alimentaires contenant des composants alcoolisés
  • Viande d'animaux morts de mort naturelle
  • Viande d'animaux carnivores
  • Sang et ses sous-produits
  • Viande d'animaux qui n'ont pas été abattus conformément aux normes islamiques
  • Viande et produits carnés de prédateurs avec des crocs
  • Viande et produits carnés de rapaces avec des serres

Exemples de versets du Coran concernant l'alimentation :

Il vous est interdit de consommer les animaux morts, le sang, la chair de porc et ce qui a été dédié à un autre qu'Allah, ainsi que les animaux étouffés, frappés à mort, tombés d'une hauteur, morts d'une corne, et ceux que les fauves ont dévorés, sauf ceux que vous égorgez avant qu'ils ne soient morts. Et ceux qu'on immole sur des pierres dressées. Et il vous est interdit de chercher à connaître par des traits de divination. C'est là une perversité. (5:3)

Il ne vous a été interdit que la chair d'une bête morte, le sang, la chair de porc et ce qui a été consacré à un autre qu'Allah. (2:173)

Satan ne veut que jeter parmi vous, à travers le vin et le jeu de hasard, l'inimitié et la haine, et vous détourner d'invoquer Allah et de la Salat. Allez-vous donc cesser? (5:91)

Ô les croyants! Remplissez fidèlement vos engagements. Vous sont permises les bêtes du bétail, sauf ce qui vous sera récité. (5:1)

Non. Le concept de Halal et Haram est très complet. Il peut être appliqué à presque tous les aspects de la vie. Le Haram, par exemple, s'applique à certains comportements, tels que l'adultère, les abus, ou l'abstention lors des élections générales. En outre, le Haram s'applique également aux richesses obtenues par des péchés. Il s'agit par exemple de l'argent gagné en trichant, en volant, en corrompant, en assassinant ou par tout autre moyen qui implique de nuire à un autre être humain. L'Islam interdit à un vrai musulman de tirer profit de telles actions Haram.

La base de ces commandements et interdictions est le saint Coran et la Sunnah (paroles et enseignements du prophète Mahomet.)



The Hanafi. Built upon the teachings of the Persian scholar Abu Hanifa and also named after him, the fiqh with the largest number of followers, predominant in the countries of the former Ottoman Empire, the Indian subcontinent, Central Asia, and also the Balkans.

The Maliki. Predominant in North African and West African countries, named after the Medinese jurist Malik ibn Anas, whose work named 'Al Muwatta' (The frequently confirmed) is held as the foundational text of the Maliki school.

The Hanbali. The smallest Sunni Islamic school, based on the teachings and works of Ahmad ibn Hanbal, an Islamic scholar. His most known work, named 'Al-Musnad,' is a collection of approximately 30,000 Hadiths; the school is predominant in Saudi Arabia and some countries in the Persian Gulf area, which are mainly influenced by Saudi Arabia.

The Shafi'i. Predominant in South-East Asia and East Africa, based on the Islamic jurist Muhammad ibn Idrīs asch-Schāfiʿī, whose most important work named 'Risala,' analyses the methods of the jurisprudence and the principles of the school.

There are also recognized Shia law schools.

The Ja'fari. The oldest Islamic law school, based on Dschaʿfar as-Sādiq, an imam and scholar. The adherents of the law school are also known as the Twelvers. The school is predominant in Iran and also some parts of Iraq.

The different views on sea animals is one topic that shows us the differences between the law schools. The adherents of the Hanafi law school believe that not all sea animals are allowed for human consumption. They base their view on the Islamic Catechism, which indicates that only sea fish are allowed for consumption. Other sea animals, like crabs and mussels, are forbidden.

Non. Contrairement à de nombreuses spéculations, le concept de halal n'exclut pas les non-musulmans de la consommation de produits halal de haute qualité produits de manière éthique. En examinant de plus près les normes halal, il n'est pas surprenant qu'il y ait des clients qui ne professent pas l'islam mais qui achètent et consomment quand même des produits certifiés halal parce qu'ils doivent répondre à des normes d'hygiène plus élevées.

Il existe certaines choses et actions qui tendent à être Haram mais qui ne sont pas explicitement interdites.Ces choses sont appelées « Mashbooh. » Ce terme est représentatif de la zone grise entre Halal et Haram et signifie littéralement indésirable. Par précaution, il convient d'éviter cette zone car ses limites ne sont pas claires.

Oui. Les aliments ou produits alimentaires fabriqués à partir de matières premières végétales sont considérés comme halal, tant que les exigences halal sont respectées pendant la production.

Le poisson, les fruits et les légumes à l'état naturel sont également considérés comme halal.

Cependant, le statut halal peut être remis en question si de l'éthanol est utilisé pendant la transformation ou si la fermentation alcoolique est déjà en cours.

Le lait de vache est considéré comme halal. Cependant, l'industrie laitière utilise certaines matières premières qui ont été classées comme critiques, telles que les additifs ou les arômes qui sont utilisés pendant la production de yaourt ou même les exhausteurs de goût et les conservateurs.

  • Le but des réglementations islamiques concernant l'abattage est de mettre fin à la vie de l'animal de manière compatissante, rapide et indolore.

  • L'abattage doit toujours être effectué au nom d'Allah, car l'animal est également une créature de Dieu. De cette manière, nous demandons la permission de Dieu.

  • Le couteau doit être aiguisé.

  • Pendant l'abattage, les artères cervicales, les veines jugulaires et la trachée de l'animal doivent être coupées d'un seul coup. Le but est de laisser autant de sang que possible s'écouler du corps. La colonne vertébrale peut être coupée une fois que la peau est enlevée et que le corps est ouvert.

  • Tout musulman pratiquant, formé à l'abattage et connaissant la loi islamique, peut effectuer l'abattage.

  • L'abattage islamique est considéré comme un processus de purification. Par conséquent, seuls les animaux autorisés selon la loi islamique peuvent être purifiés au nom d'Allah.


  • Les animaux marins sont considérés comme purs et halal. Il n'est pas nécessaire d'abattre ces types d'animaux.

  • L'abattage islamique (Zabiha) est interdit dans certains pays européens.

  • L'utilisation de l'étourdissement, qui ne conduit pas à la mort de l'animal ni n'affecte l'écoulement du sang, est approuvée par la majorité des musulmans. À présent, l'étourdissement est utilisé dans l'abattage industriel partout dans le monde.

  • Les musulmans sont tenus de traiter les animaux avec respect et dignité. Pendant l'abattage, l'accent est mis sur le fait qu'un animal ne doit pas être en mesure de voir d'autres animaux (abattus) ni de sang. Le couteau ne doit pas être aiguisé devant l'animal. De plus, l'animal doit être reposé et bien nourri avant l'abattage.

Bien qu'il existe de nombreuses similitudes et chevauchements, il existe encore des différences significatives entre les deux concepts.

Par exemple, les Juifs sont autorisés à consommer du vin si le vin est produit par un Juif ou si la production est supervisée par un Juif, tandis que les musulmans ne sont pas autorisés à consommer, vendre, posséder ou consommer d'autres aliments contenant des éléments d'alcool.

Une autre différence réside dans la manière dont ils abattent et traitent la viande. Les Juifs saupoudrent l'animal abattu de sel granuleux afin de faire sortir le sang restant. Ils coupent également certaines graisses et tendons de la hanche qui ne seront pas consommés ultérieurement.

Pendant la Pâque (Pessah), il existe des règles et des commandements spéciaux qui s'appliquent uniquement à cette fête particulière. Les aliments et les produits alimentaires autorisés à la consommation pendant cette fête sont étiquetés avec un logo et un certificat spécial (certificat de la Pâque).

Dans l'islam, les restrictions et les règles sont toujours les mêmes.

Si des substances non kasher ont été utilisées sur une ligne de production kasher, il est toujours possible de kasher la ligne de production. Un rabbin doit nettoyer la ligne de production avec de l'eau bouillante et des agents de nettoyage.

Cette possibilité n'existe pas en cas de contamination croisée entre les aliments halal et les aliments non halal. Dans ce cas, la production devrait être arrêtée.

De plus, les Juifs n'ont pas le droit de consommer du lait et de la viande en même temps. Selon les coutumes locales, les aliments lactés ne peuvent être consommés qu'après environ trois à six heures après la consommation d'aliments à base de viande. Vice versa, la période d'attente est de une à trois heures.

Ce type de restriction n'existe pas dans l'islam.

Processus de Certification

Pour les musulmans qui ne vivent pas dans un pays majoritairement musulman, il est difficile d'éviter les aliments interdits. La plupart des produits alimentaires de nos jours sont constitués de divers composants, tels que des arômes et des agents colorants.

Le consommateur manque souvent d'informations sur les composants et leur composition. Il peut y avoir des composants de porc dans une saucisse de volaille, ou le jus de pomme peut contenir de la gélatine de porc, qui a pu entrer dans le jus de pomme pendant sa purification, par exemple.

En raison de ces problèmes, un nombre croissant de musulmans dans le monde entier ont exprimé leur souhait d'une plus grande transparence dans ce domaine. Les premiers organismes de certification ont vu le jour pour faciliter les difficultés des musulmans.

Après que l'entreprise ait rempli et soumis un formulaire de demande, l'organisme de certification déterminera si l'entreprise a l'intention de produire des produits halal en se basant sur les documents fournis.

Une fois que l'entreprise et l'organisme de certification ont négocié un accord pour la certification halal, le processus réel commence.

En tant que première étape, l'équipe de certification examine toutes les matières premières, les additifs et les aides de traitement utilisés pour leur conformité halal. L'équipe vérifie s'il y a des matières premières d'origine animale, ce qui nécessite un certificat halal.

Dans la deuxième étape, la mise en œuvre et les effets des étapes déjà entreprises sont examinés. Afin de vérifier la conformité halal du site de production, l'installation fait l'objet d'un examen très strict et précis. Cela doit garantir l'évitement de la contamination croisée et la sécurisation de la traçabilité. L'entreprise est tenue de séparer toute la chaîne d'approvisionnement, de l'achat de matières premières à la sortie des marchandises, afin de garantir la conformité halal.

Les deux examens se concluent par un rapport, qui sera soumis au comité halal. Le comité prend la décision finale en se basant sur la recommandation des auditeurs et leur consultation.

Oui. Outre les produits alimentaires, il existe également des produits non alimentaires comme les produits pharmaceutiques, les produits cosmétiques et même les produits utilisés dans des produits tels que les lubrifiants, les agents de nettoyage, les désinfectants ou les aliments pour animaux. Tous ces produits peuvent être certifiés par HCS.

Tout d'abord, les décideurs doivent formuler une stratégie claire pour la production halal. La production halal peut impliquer des efforts supplémentaires. Initialement, il faut décider si l'ensemble de l'entreprise doit être converti en un environnement conforme aux normes halal ou seulement certaines parties, ce qui signifie que des produits conformes aux normes halal et des produits non halal sont produits côte à côte.

Dans le premier cas, toutes les machines, les récipients, les contenants, ainsi que les lignes et tous les autres équipements doivent être soigneusement nettoyés avant la première production halal. Tous les résidus possibles de la production précédente (non conforme aux normes halal) doivent être éliminés de manière traçable. Ensuite, la production halal peut commencer. De plus, le personnel doit être formé à l'utilisation des aliments selon les normes halal.

La deuxième variation est beaucoup plus compliquée et difficile à réaliser. Une séparation physique complète du stockage, du refroidissement des matières premières, de la zone de préparation, de la zone de production et de la distribution doit être assurée.

Il doit être garanti en toutes circonstances qu'aucun mélange de récipients, d'ustensiles, de contenants ou d'autres aides utilisées ne puisse se produire pendant la préparation ou l'ablution.

Tous les ustensiles utilisés doivent être marqués de couleurs pour éviter les erreurs. Si toute l'entreprise est orientée vers la production halal, la possibilité de contamination croisée n'existe pas. Cela facilite la certification des produits.

De plus, toutes les matières premières utilisées dans la production doivent être conformes aux normes halal.

Les matériaux d'emballage utilisés doivent être halal, ce qui signifie qu'ils ne peuvent pas contenir de composants dangereux pour la santé ou de composants d'alcool, de viande de porc ou de toute autre viande qui est haram. Cela relève des normes supplémentaires de la norme appropriée pour les emballages en contact avec les aliments.

Le document de synthèse de l'audit, qui contient les points les plus importants de l'audit, est créé immédiatement après l'audit et est basé sur les notes prises par les auditeurs pendant l'audit.

De plus, l'évaluation des documents et de l'audit lui-même est documentée de manière très précise.

Les normes halal sont établies par des érudits musulmans spécialisés dans l'interprétation du Fiqh (jurisprudence islamique) et des scientifiques musulmans spécialisés dans la technologie alimentaire, la chimie organique, la biotechnologie, la chimie pharmaceutique et la biochimie.

À quelle fréquence les audits doivent-ils être effectués pendant cette période ?

Une fois par an, un audit est réalisé, qui sert à la délivrance ou au renouvellement du certificat. Au cours d'une année, nous effectuons également des audits sans préavis pour nous assurer que nos exigences sont toujours respectées.

Les coûts dépendent de différents facteurs. D'une part, la taille de l'entreprise est un facteur déterminant. D'autre part, le nombre de produits proposés, la complexité des processus et le temps nécessaire aux contrôles sont également des facteurs importants. Chaque entreprise est jugée individuellement et reçoit une offre personnalisée sur la base des informations fournies.

Le certificat Halal offre un avantage marketing par rapport aux concurrents. Pour les musulmans, la certification Halal offre la garantie que les produits ont été fabriqués conformément aux directives islamiques.

Le certificat Halal offre un avantage marketing par rapport aux concurrents. Pour les musulmans, la certification Halal offre la garantie que les produits ont été fabriqués conformément aux directives islamiques.

Marché Halal

En raison de l'approche plus consciente des clients musulmans vis-à-vis de leurs achats, la certification Halal est devenue lucrative.

Le nombre de musulmans devrait augmenter de 70 % - passant de 1,8 milliard en 2015 à près de 3 milliards en 2060. Ils devraient représenter plus de 31,1 % de la population mondiale.

Les dépenses dans le secteur alimentaire et du mode de vie de l'économie islamique atteindront 3 billions de dollars d'ici 2022. Cela offre des opportunités significatives pour les marques de produits alimentaires et de boissons Halal, avec des dépenses attendues de 1,93 milliard de dollars en 2022.

Le secteur pharmaceutique devrait atteindre 132 milliards de dollars d'ici 2022, et le secteur des cosmétiques Halal 82 milliards de dollars.

En Asie, des pays à majorité non musulmane tels que Singapour et les Philippines sont des marchés importants pour les aliments et boissons emballés en Halal, avec respectivement 1,4 milliard et 7,5 milliards de dollars.

En Europe, la valeur du marché Halal est estimée entre 40 et 100 milliards d'euros. En tout cas, il est indéniable que le marché alimentaire Halal contribue de manière significative à l'économie européenne, avec plusieurs milliards de dollars.

Si d'autres matières premières ou ingrédients doivent être utilisés pour respecter les normes halal, les produits halal peuvent être plus chers dans ces circonstances. Sinon, la certification n'a aucune incidence sur le prix que paiera le consommateur final.
halal cs footer

Emplacements des bureaux

Halal Certification Services certifie des entreprises dans le monde entier. Nos auditeurs basés localement peuvent vous aider dans vos langues locales. Veuillez trouver les données de contact de nos bureaux les plus proches de chez vous.

Reconnu Mondialement

Fournisseur de Certification Halal

Contact

Frequently Asked Questions

General Questions

Halal is an Arabic term designating any object or an action that is permissible to use or engage in according to Shariah (Islamic law). This term is widely used to certify food items seen as permissible according to Islamic law.

In contrast to Halal, Haram means forbidden. Haram designates prohibited objects such as food products and actions.

The following food products or nutritional elements are considered to be Haram:

  • Pork meat and all food products which contain elements of pork meat
  • Alcohol and food products with alcoholic components
  • Meat from animals that died of natural causes
  • Meat from carnivorous animals
  • Blood and its by-products
  • Meat from animals that have not been slaughtered according to the Islamic norms
  • Meat and meat products from predators with fangs
  • Meat and meat products from raptors with claws

Examples of Quran verses concerning nutrition:

Prohibited to you are dead animals, blood, the flesh of swine, and that which has been dedicated to other than Allah, and those animals killed by strangling or by a violent blow or by a head-long fall or by the goring of horns, and those from which a wild animal has eaten, except what you are able to slaughter before its death, and those which are sacrificed on stone altars, and prohibited is that you seek decision through divining arrows. That is grave disobedience. (5:3)

He has only forbidden to you dead animals, blood, the flesh of swine, and that which has been dedicated to other than Allah. (2:173)

Satan only wants to cause between you animosity and hatred through intoxicants and gambling and to avert you from the remembrance of Allah and from prayer. So will you not desist? (5:91)

O you who have believed, fulfil all contracts. Lawful for you are the animals of grazing livestock except for that which is recited to you - hunting not being permitted while you are in the state of ihram. Indeed, Allah ordains what He intends. (5:1)

No. The concept of Halal and Haram is very comprehensive. It can be applied to nearly every aspect of life. Haram, for example, applies to certain behaviors, such as adultery, abuse, or abstention in general elections. Furthermore, Haram also applies to wealth obtained through sins. Examples include money earned through cheating, stealing, corruption, murder, or any means that involves harm to another human being. It is prohibited in Islam for a true Muslim to profit from such Haram actions.

The base of these commandments and interdictions is the holy Quran and the Sunnah (sayings and teachings of Prophet Muhammad).



The Hanafi. Built upon the teachings of the Persian scholar Abu Hanifa and also named after him, the fiqh with the largest number of followers, predominant in the countries of the former Ottoman Empire, the Indian subcontinent, Central Asia, and also the Balkans.

The Maliki. Predominant in North African and West African countries, named after the Medinese jurist Malik ibn Anas, whose work named 'Al Muwatta' (The frequently confirmed) is held as the foundational text of the Maliki school.

The Hanbali. The smallest Sunni Islamic school, based on the teachings and works of Ahmad ibn Hanbal, an Islamic scholar. His most known work, named 'Al-Musnad,' is a collection of approximately 30,000 Hadiths; the school is predominant in Saudi Arabia and some countries in the Persian Gulf area, which are mainly influenced by Saudi Arabia.

The Shafi'i. Predominant in South-East Asia and East Africa, based on the Islamic jurist Muhammad ibn Idrīs asch-Schāfiʿī, whose most important work named 'Risala,' analyses the methods of the jurisprudence and the principles of the school.

There are also recognized Shia law schools.

The Ja'fari. The oldest Islamic law school, based on Dschaʿfar as-Sādiq, an imam and scholar. The adherents of the law school are also known as the Twelvers. The school is predominant in Iran and also some parts of Iraq.

The different views on sea animals is one topic that shows us the differences between the law schools. The adherents of the Hanafi law school believe that not all sea animals are allowed for human consumption. They base their view on the Islamic Catechism, which indicates that only sea fish are allowed for consumption. Other sea animals, like crabs and mussels, are forbidden.

No. Contrary to many speculations, the concept of Halal does not exclude any non-Muslims from the consumption of ethically produced, high-quality Halal goods. Taking a closer look at the Halal standards, it is not surprising that there are customers who don't profess Islam but still buy and consume Halal-certified goods because they have to meet higher standards of hygiene.

There are certain things and actions which tend to be Haram but are not explicitly forbidden.These things are referred to as 'Mashbooh.' The term is representative of the grey area between Halal and Haram and literally means undesirable. As a precaution, this area should be avoided because its boundaries are not clear.

Yes. Foods or food products that are made from herbal raw materials are considered to be Halal, as long as the Halal requirements are adhered to during the production.

Fish, Fruits, and vegetables in their natural state are also considered to be Halal.

However, the Halal status can be questioned if ethanol is being used during the processing or if the alcoholic fermentation is already in process.

Cow's milk is considered to be Halal. However, the dairy industry uses some raw materials which have been classified as critical, such as the additives or aromas which are being used during the production of yogurt or even flavor enhancers and preservatives.

  • The aim of the Islamic regulations regarding slaughter is to end the animal's life in a sympathetic, quick, and painless manner.

  • The slaughter always has to be held in the name of Allah since the animal is also God's creature. In this way, we ask God for his permission.

  • The knife needs to be sharpened.

  • During the slaughter, the cervical arteries, the jugular veins, and the trachea of the animal have to be cut through with one incision. The aim is to let as much blood as possible flow out of the body. The spinal column can be cut through once the skin is removed, and the body is opened.

  • Every practicing Muslim, who is trained in the slaughter and knows the Islamic law, can carry out the slaughter.

  • Islamic slaughter is viewed as a purification process. Therefore, only those animals which are allowed according to Islamic law can be purified in the name of Allah.


  • Sea animals are considered to be pure and halal. It is not necessary to slaughter these kinds of animals.

  • Islamic slaughter (Zabiha) is forbidden in some European countries.

  • The usage of stunning, which does not lead to the death of the animal nor affect the bleeding, is approved by the majority of Muslims. By now, stunning is used in industrial slaughtering all over the world.

  • Muslims are required to treat animals with respect and dignity. During the slaughter, much emphasis is placed on ensuring that an animal is not able to see other (slaughtered) animals nor blood. The knife should not be sharpened in front of the animal. Also, the animal should be rested and well-fed before slaughtering.

While there are many similarities and overlaps, there are still some significant differences between the two concepts.

The Jews, for example, are allowed to consume wine if the wine is produced by a Jew or the production is overlooked by one, whereas Muslims are not allowed to consume nor to sell or possess alcohol or any other foods with elements of it.

Another difference is the way they slaughter and process the meat. Jewish people sprinkle the slaughtered animal with gritty salt in order to draw out the remained blood. They also cut out some fats and hip sinews which will not be consumed later on.

During Passover (Pessach), there are special rules and commandments which only apply for that particular festival. Food and food products that are allowed for consumption during that festival are labeled with a special logo and certificate (Passover certificate).

In Islam, there are always the same restrictions and rules.

If there were non-Kosher substances used on a Kosher production line, there is still a possibility to kosher the production line. A rabbi has to clean the production line with boiled water and cleaning agents.

This possibility does not exist with cross contamination of Halal food with non-Halal food. In this case, the production would have to be stopped.

Also, Jewish people are not allowed to consume milk and meat at the same time. Depending on local customs, milky food may be consumed only about three to six hours after the consumption of meaty food. Vice versa, the waiting period amounts to between one and three hours.

This kind of restriction does not exist in Islam.

Certification Process

For Muslims, who don't live in a predominantly Muslim country, it is hard to avoid prohibited food. Most food products nowadays consist of various components, such as aromas and coloring agents.

The consumer often lacks information about the components and their composition. There might be components of pork in a poultry sausage, or the apple juice might contain pork gelatin, which got into the apple juice during its purification, for example.

Because of these issues, a growing number of Muslims all over the world expressed their wish for bigger transparency in that area. The first certification bodies emerged to ease Muslims' difficulties.

After the company has filled out and submitted an application form, the certification body will determine if the company has the intention to produce Halal products based on the supplied documents.

After the company and the certification body have negotiated an agreement for the Halal certification, the actual process begins.

As a first step, the certification team examines all the used raw materials, additives, and processing aids for their Halal compliance. The team examines If there are any raw materials based on animals, a Halal certificate is required.

In the second step, the implementation and the effects of the steps already taken are examined. In order to verify the Halal compliance of the production site, the facility undergoes a very strict and precise examination. This should guarantee that cross-contamination is avoided and that traceability is secured. The company is obliged to separate the whole grocery chain, from the raw material procurement to the goods issue, in order to guarantee the Halal-compliance.

Both examinations are rounded off with a report, which will be submitted to the Halal committee. The committee makes the final decision based on the recommendation of the auditors and their consultation.

Yes. Besides food products, there are also non-food products like pharmaceuticals, cosmetic products, and even products that are being used in products such as lubricants, cleaning agents, disinfectants, or animal feed. All these products can be certified by HCS.

First of all, the decision-makers have to formulate a clear strategy for the Halal-production. Halal production may imply an additional effort. Initially, it must be decided whether the whole company should be converted to a Halal-compliant environment or only parts of it, which means that Halal-compliant products and non-halal products are produced next to each other.

In the first case, all machines, vessels, containers, as well as lines, and all the other aids have to be cleaned thoroughly before the first Halal production. Thereby, all possible residues from the previous (not Halal correspondent)-production must be removed in a traceable way. Afterward, Halal production can begin. In addition, the staff must be trained in the usage of the food according to the Halal standards.

The second variation is substantially more complicated and more difficult to realize. Complete physical separation of the storage, the cooling of the raw materials, the preparation zone, the production zone, and the distribution have to be ensured.

It must be guaranteed under all circumstances that no mixture of the vessels, utensils, containers, or other used aids can occur during the preparation or ablution.

All used utensils must be marked with colors to exclude mistakes. If the whole company is geared toward Halal production, the possibility of cross-contamination does not exist. That makes it easier to certify the products.

Furthermore, all raw materials used in the production have to be Halal correspondent.

The packaging materials that are being used have to be Halal, which means they can not contain any health hazardous components or components of alcohol, pork meat, or any other meat which is Haram. This arises from the additional standards of the suitable norm for the packaging in contact with food.

The audit summary document, which contains the most important points of the audit, is created right after the audit and is based on the notes the auditors made during the audit.

Furthermore, the evaluation of the documents and the audit itself is documented very precisely.

Muslim scholars who are well versed in the interpretation of the Fiqh (Islamic Jurisprudence) and Muslim scientists of food technology, organic chemistry, biotechnology, pharmaceutical chemistry, and biochemistry develop the Halal standards.

The certification has to be renewed yearly.

Once a year, an audit is carried out, which serves for the issue or for the renewal of the certificate. Within a year, we also carry out unannounced audits to make sure that our demands are still kept.

The costs depend on different factors. On the one hand, the size of a company is a determining factor. On the other hand, the number of the offered products, the complexity of the processes, and the required time for the controls are also important factors. Every company is judged individually and receives a personal offer based on the provided information.

The Halal certificate offers a marketing advantage over competitors. For Muslims, the Halal certification provides the guarantee that the products have been produced according to Islamic guidelines.

The Halal certificate offers a marketing advantage over competitors. For Muslims, the Halal certification provides the guarantee that the products have been produced according to Islamic guidelines.

Halal Market

Due to the more conscious approach of Muslim customers to their purchases, Halal certification has become lucrative.

The number of Muslims is expected to increase by 70% – from 1.8 billion in 2015 to nearly 3 billion in 2060. They are expected to make up more than 31.1% of the world's people.

Expenditures in the food and lifestyle sector of the Islamic economy will attain $3 trillion by 2022. This means significant opportunities for Halal food and beverage brands, with spending expected to reach $1.93 billion in 2022.

The pharmaceutical sector is expected to reach $132 billion by 2022, and the Halal cosmetics sector $82 billion.

In Asia, non-Muslim majority countries, such as Singapore and the Philippines, are important markets for Halal-packaged food and beverages at $1.4 billion and $7.5 billion, respectively.

In Europe, the value of the Halal market is estimated at between 40 and 100 billion euros. In any case, it is undeniable that the Halal food market is a multi-billion-dollar contributor to the European economy.

If other raw materials or ingredients must be used to meet the Halal standards, Halal products can be more expensive under the circumstances. Otherwise, the certification does not affect the price which the final consumer will pay.
halal cs footer

Office Locations

Halal Certification Services certifies companies all over the world. Our locally-based auditors can support you in your local languages. Find the contact details of our offices nearest to you.

Globally Recognized

Halal Certification Provider

Contact